POSTGRADUATE INSTITUTE OF SCIENCE UNIVERSITY OF PERADENIYA



INAUGURATION CEREMONY

Friday 12th July 2019 at 10.00 a.m. at PGIS Auditorium

Masters Degree Programmes in

- Analytical Chemistry
- Applied Epidemiology
- Clinical Biochemistry
- Computer Science
- Engineering Geology & Hydrogeology
- Environmental Science

- GIS & RS
- Industrial Chemistry
- Industrial Mathematics
- Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
- Pharmaceutical Botany
- Physics of Materials
- Water Resources Management

PROGRAMME

10:00 – 10:10 a.m.	National Anthem and Traditional Lighting of Oil Lamp		
10:10 - 10:15 a.m.	Welcome Address by Prof. H M T G A Pitawala (Director, Postgraduate Institute of Science)		
10:15 – 10:20 a.m.	Address by Prof. S R Kodituwakku (Dean, Faculty of Science)		
10:20 – 10:25 a.m.	Address by Prof. Upul Dissanayake (Vice-Chancellor, University of Peradeniya)		
10:25 – 10:30 a.m.	Vote of Thanks by Dr. N C Bandara (Postgraduate Institute of Science)		
10:30 – 11:00 a.m.	Tea		
11:00 – 11:30 a.m.	Meeting with Chairperson of relevant Board of Study (at 11.00 a.m.) and Masters Degree Programme Coordinator/s (at 11.15 a.m.):		
	<u>Masters Programme</u>	Chairperson of Board of Study (Venue)	Coordinator/s (Venue)
	Analytical Chemistry	Prof. ADLC Perera Chairperson/Chemical Sciences (Auditorium)	Prof. A Navaratne Dr. S Gunatilaka (Auditorium)
	Industrial Chemistry	Prof. ADLC Perera Chairperson /Chemical Sciences (Auditorium)	Dr. CS Kalpage Dr. S Jayasinghe (Auditorium)
	Nanosc. & Nanotech.	Prof. ADLC Perera Chairperson /Chemical Sciences (Auditorium)	Prof. RMG Rajapakse Prof. RGSC Rajapakse Dr. ACA Jayasundara (Lecture Room A.3.1)
	Environmental Science	Prof. GWAR Fernando Chairman/Environmental Science (Lecture Room A.	Prof. GWAR Fernando Dr. G A N Suranjith 3.2)
	Applied Epidemiology	Prof. S Yatigammana Chairperson /Zoological Sciences (Data Science Un	Prof. S Yatigammana Dr. S Kumburegama it)
	Pharmaceutical Botany	Prof. D Yakandawala Chairperson /Plant Sciences (Lecture Room A.	Prof. G A D Perera
	Clinical Biochemistry	Prof. RGSC Rajapakse Chairman/Biochem. & Mol.Bio. (Lecture Room A.	Prof. H K I Perera Dr. I Fernando 1.2)
	Computer Science	Prof. P Wijekoon Chairperson/Statistics & Comp. Sc. (Computer Lab - 2 nd Floor/	Prof. AAI Perera Dr. R Nawaratne New Building)
	Eng. Geology & Hydrogeol.		Prof. HA Dharmagunawardane Dr. Jagath Gunatilaka (GIS Lab - 2 nd Floor)
	GIS & RS	Prof. HMTGA Pitawala Chairman/Earth Sciences (GIS Lab - 2 nd Floor)	Dr. Jagath Gunatilaka (GIS Lab - 2 nd Floor)
	Water Res. Management	Prof. HMTGA Pitawala	Prof. HA Dharmagunawardane
	water Nex Management	Chairman/Earth Sciences (GIS Lab - 2 nd Floor)	(Lecture Room B.3.1 - 3 rd Floor)
	Industrial Mathematics	Prof. AAI Perera Chairman/Mathematics (Lecture Room B.3.2 - 3 rd F	Dr. MIM Ishak loor)
	Physics of Materials	Dr. S Bandaranayake Chairman/Physics	Dr. VA Seneviratne
	(Lecture Room B.3.4 - 3 rd Floor/New Building)		
11:30 - 12:15 p.m.	Presentation on 'Library Orientation' Dr. Menaka Hindagolla, Senior Assistant Librarian/Science (Venue – PGIS Auditorium)		

1:00 p.m.

Registration